Off The Record #1 – Dream Pop

Hey readers, another new kind of feature I’ve decided to create here. ‘Off The Record’ is going to be a series of posts that aren’t necessarily related to anything, other than my current thoughts and opinions on something. Hope you enjoy!

Recently, I’ve been trying to broaden my musical horizons and listen to new material that I wouldn’t normally find myself pursuing, and through this I managed to discover a band that you may have heard of called Beach House. I first listened to the unique sound of the dynamic duo Victoria Legrand and Alex Scally back in February, however I kept finding myself coming back to the ethereal, dreamy sound of their fourth (and most recent) album Bloom. What attracted me the most to their music was simply the style and bone-chilling ambience that it created. It felt almost as if I was dreaming.

It should therefore come to no surprise that the genre of music made by Beach House is known as Dream Pop. Originally used exclusively in the mid-80’s in America, it has grown tremendously due to the electronic breakthrough in music and the introduction of synth, thus creating some outstanding records throughout the years. Representatives of the genre over the years include Mazzy Star, Bat For Lashes, Lykke Lii, The xx and even early-period The Verve.

Another of my favourites, young musician Trevor Powers has been actively creating music as Youth Lagoon since 2010 and has so far released two incredible albums, The Year of Hibernation and Wondrous Bughouse. Powers has noted that his second album was influenced from his fascination of “the human psyche and where the spiritual meets the physical world”.

I thoroughly recommend checking out a few Dream Pop artists if you can. It’s an experimental genre that can open your mind has few boundaries of creativity. Thanks for reading, and please comment any thoughts below!

Links:

Youth Lagoon – Attic Doctor (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jCRSOx6zyQ0)

Youth Lagoon – Montana (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lbMiHqaE8VE)

Beach House – Lazuli (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uvwl7INZykc)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

